Year ‘Round Tree

February 2, 2010 at 10:53 pm 4 comments

Tucked in the corner of my living room is a table and a four foot high wire ornament tree.  It’s been there for a year now – we decorate it in different ways depending on what’s going on, and I’m very pleased that we actually kept it up for a full year.

I never recorded the changes to the tree last year, so I want to be sure to do that this year.

Beginning with January and the post-Christmas season … here, that still means lots of cold weather as winter settles in, so the tree was decorated with lots of snowflakes (both plastic ones and blue paper cut snowflakes), some white ribbon, a few pinecones and wooden cut outs of deer, and some blue and purple and white balls I held out when I put away the Christmas decorations.  Pulling it all together is a strand of white lights and a lighted evergreen garland.

And yes… a ‘winter’ tree is close enough to a Christmas tree that it looked like we’d just not gotten around to taking down the holiday ornaments, but most people that come to the house know what the deal is by now.

There is a small blue dressed angel at the top of the tree, but it looks like she fell over – I didn’t realize that when I was taking the picture before dismantling it for February.

February’s tree actually took just a few minutes to switch out – the nice thing about seasonal changes is that things flow into one another, so there is some carry over in what stays on the tree.  I kept the everygreen garland and white lights, as well as the white ribbon.  The pinecones also stayed on (mainly because I forgot to remove them), and a few of the plastic snowflakes – the ones that are pink tinted – are still there.  I took most of the glass balls down, but left up the ones that are white.

Then I added in a set of glass heart shaped ornaments I found a couple weeks ago and some pink and brown heart ornaments the family made last year when we first started this project.  These began life as coasters, which we hold punched to hang, then set out markers, glue, magazines to cut up, etc, and encouraged everyone to make a valentine or two to hang on the tree.

The final touch this year is the fairy figurine at the top, donated by my youngest daughter for the month.  All in all, I think it looks great and I always feel happy when it’s time to switch things up with the tree.

Entry filed under: Crafts. Tags: .

Menu Plan Jan 30 – Feb 12

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lana  |  February 4, 2010 at 8:26 am

    Awesome tree. Definately puts a person in a good mood.

    Reply
  • 2. Chelsea  |  February 5, 2010 at 2:17 am

    Neat idea!

    Reply
  • 3. Wren  |  February 7, 2010 at 11:45 am

    That tree is cute, and what a nice way to mark and celebrate the ongoing change of seasons each year! I once considered leaving my 6-foot tree up after Christmas, and decorating it like you’re doing, but in the end took it down. I had to concede to myself that I’m simply too lazy to decorate and re-decorate over and over. Ce la vie… :o)

    Reply
  • 4. Andrea  |  February 27, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    What a wonderful idea! I really like how you decorated the tree for Valentine’s day…it really brightens up a room I bet. Good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan    
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

